Writer’s block the week you finally start your blog…

(or everyday obstacles to achievable goals)

It’s rare to imagine how something will happen and have it turn out exactly as you pictured it in your head for the past few weeks or months. More often, you realize there’s never going to be a perfect time and dive in. Once started, there’s almost always something that goes wrong, takes your attention away, halts your progress.

For me, this is an accepted part of life. I am not being pessimistic or saying these things you shouldn’t start anything. We all know that life is going to throw us curve balls. It’s okay to strike out once in awhile as long as you keep playing.

The past few days, there have been random thoughts playing over and over in my mind each time I sit down to write. Things like how I handled situations with certain friends, how others have treated me, how I am treating myself just continue to resurface in my brain. I am dealing with ending friendships and medication changes and through it, trying to figure out how to write more regularly, to let a newer audience into my life.

I wanted to have this post up by Thursday. I started out with the intention of creating posts a few times a week. It’s 3:00 Saturday morning and I’m still trying. This is what gets things done. It doesn’t matter if you have depression and anxiety pulling you back, or children needing help with homework, or a sink full of dishes. It’s okay to not get things done precisely when and how you want to do them. Life doesn’t always want to work on our schedule.

However, please don’t stop trying. This is how we move forward in life. Whether it’s writing a blog, taking a shower or getting your PhD, life is about perseverance. There will be disappointments and delays but those are just part of how we get to our victories. You are capable of achieving your goals as long as you are willing to push for them.

Be stubborn. Be victorious.

~Brutally Honest Eccentric~

Leave a comment